Almond Flour Waffles!

I was so excited to get my brand new bag of almond flour in the mail yesterday! I just recently ordered both almond flour and coconut flour, because both of them are low-glycemic. You know what that means? I can still have things like waffles and muffins and cookies!

Image

This morning I decided to try making some waffles for the first time…ever….no less with a different type of flour. πŸ™‚

Image

Overall, we really liked them. The biggest difference was the texture…they were softer than normal waffles. The taste was a little different too, but it wasn’t a bad different. I would definitely make them again.

I cut up red cherries and put them on mine, then drizzled honey over the top and really liked this combination.

Honey is lower on the glycemic index, but you have to be careful not to have too much or the glycemic load will go up. We didn’t have any pure maple syrup, but I am definitely going to get some and try it next time. It too is low on the glycemic index.

Here is a picture of the final product πŸ™‚ :

Image

The recipe I used comes from a book I downloaded for free on Kindle (unfortunately I don’t think it is free anymore), but it is called Every Day Almond Flour Recipes: A Complete Guide for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, And More. Due to copyright laws, you won’t find the actual recipe on my recipe page.

2 thoughts on “Almond Flour Waffles!

I would love to hear from you...

