Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

I had a lot of doubts going into this recipe as to whether it would actually taste anything like a chocolate chip cookie. Listen to the main ingredients and you will know what I mean: almond flour, agave, & grapeseed oil. Hmmm….Where is the butter? Where is the egg? But the moment I tried the cookie dough, my doubts fled! Delicious! It tasted just like normal cookie dough, and yet it was low-glycemic (and though not intended, gluten free and vegan.)

I am not exaggerating when I say that I love these cookies! Doug really likes the taste, though he feels like the texture is a little different. I didn’t notice a different texture at all though. You’ll have to let me know what you think if you try them.

One note is that unless you want to burn them, they come out as a softer type cookie, so keep that in mind. I brought them to small group tonight, a little nervous of what everyone would think of my first attempt at low-glycemic cookies, but I was so happy when they really liked them! (And they weren’t just being nice. 🙂 )

This recipe is definitely a winner!

Image

Image

Image

DARK CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

This awesome recipe is from Elana’s Pantry  …I would encourage you to check out her site!

Serving Size: 24 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups Blanched almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup grapeseed oil
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  • Stir wet ingredients together in another bowl.
  • Mix wet and dry ingredients together.
  • Form 1 inch balls and press onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 7-10 minutes.
  • Cool and serve.

*Elana is very particular about the type of almond flour she uses, so you might want to read her site and find out what she recommends and why. I have the one she uses and I love it!

8 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Who would have thunked it??? I can’t even imagine number one what Almond Flour would taste like – does it taste like almonds are in it? I am going to have to come visit just to have you cook for me and teach me. You are going to run out of flour real quickly. I will be interested to see how long one bag of flour lasts.

    Like

    • To me it doesn’t really taste like almonds (which happen to be one of my least favorite nuts.) It has a richer taste than normal flour…more flavorful and buttery is the only way my taste buds can describe it at this point. 🙂 Yes, come visit! 🙂

      Like

  2. These look great, too! What do you think I could substitute for the grapeseed oil? That’s incredible how you got these cookies to work with just almond meal – I’m inspired! So glad I’ve found your blog! 🙂

    Like

    • Yay! That makes me happy to inspire! You know, I actually started using butter instead of the grapeseed oil….my hubby liked the consistency better. And I love that there is no eggs, because you can freely eat the cookie dough….yummy!

      Like

      • Awesome, Lori! I’ll definitely be trying some of your stuff out sometime. You have some great recipes, and I’ve only peeked through a few so far 🙂

        Like

      • Thanks for your encouragement Lisa! I am totally new to cooking….been doing it only since the end of January….but am totally loving it! I find it to be such a wonderful creative outlet, especially when I make up my own recipes! Never knew I would love to cook, no less create my own stuff! 🙂

        Like

I would love to hear from you...

