Chocolate Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins with Srawberry Chocolate Sauce

I am absolutely loving experimenting and trying out different types of muffins! My hubby continued to be my inspiration this morning, with his great love of chocolate, and with Valentine’s Day right around the corner, all this chocolatey goodness seems only fitting! I have to be careful though, because my hubby likes unadulterated chocolate…he is a purist when it comes to this. 🙂 Purist and all though, I managed to get him to love the strawberry I added to his chocolate this morning. 🙂 These were delicious, and happen to be both low-glycemic and gluten free! And this is another recipe that I created myself….I am so excited….never knew I could do this!

Image

Image

CHOCOLATE DARK CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS WITH STRAWBERRY CHOCOLATE SAUCE

  • Servings: 12 Muffins
  • Print

                 *Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Ingredients for muffin:

  • 2 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips

Ingredients for sauce:

  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3 tbsp strawberries pureed (add more if you want a stronger strawberry taste)
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • Mix the flours, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.
  • In another bowl, mix the eggs, vanilla, coconut milk, and honey.
  • Combine the wet ingredients into the bowl with the dry ones. Mix thoroughly.
  • Add in the chocolate chips and make sure they are distributed around well.
  • Grease the muffin tin
  • Pour batter into the muffin tin.
  • To make the sauce, wash and cut up the strawberries, then puree them in a food processor.
  • Meanwhile, melt the coconut oil.
  • Combine the pureed strawberries, coconut oil, cocoa powder, and honey and mix well.
  • Pour over the muffins.
  • Cook for 20 minutes.

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins with Srawberry Chocolate Sauce

  1. It just blows me away how you are enjoying baking like you are. I know your hubby is enjoying every minute of it. 🙂 I am so very, very proud of you.

    Like

  2. Wow, Lori – these look great! Love your use of coconut flour and almond meal. I’ve started to experiment with those, and hope to increase my collection of recipes like this that don’t use as much refined flour. I bet these are delicious!

    Like

    • Lisa-Thanks! They really are so good! And by being low-glycemic, they don’t raise your blood sugar levels…an added benefit. 🙂 My favorite is a tie between the orange dark chocolate chip one or the cinnamon dark chocolate chip one. I absolutely love them….even more so than a muffin with regular flour. The almond flour gives such a rich taste…it is delicious!

      Like

I would love to hear from you...

