Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins with Chocolate Orange Sauce

From as little as I can remember, every Valentine’s Day my dad would get both my mom and I a heart shaped box of chocolates. I looked forward to it every year!  Once I opened mine I had one mission: take a bite out of every single piece until I found the one I was looking for….the one filled with orange cream. 🙂

To me, there is no greater combination than orange and chocolate!

As I have been thinking about this, I just knew that I had to experiment and try to come up with a muffin with this very combination. So, that is exactly what I did yesterday, and I am so happy with how they turned out!

Image

Image

Image

I took a picture of the inside of the muffin, so you could see what it looks like. I love being able to see the orange zest in it.  Image

ORANGE DARK CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS WITH CHOCOLATE ORANGE SAUCE

  • Servings: 12 Muffins
  • Print

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

IngredientsFinal

For muffin:

  • 2 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 tbsp orange zest
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips

For Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil

(I ended up with extra sauce, so you probably won’t need it all. I saved mine to pour over some fruit!)

DirectionsFinal

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • Mix the flours, baking soda, salt, and zest in a large bowl.
  • Mix the eggs, orange juice, coconut milk, and honey in another bowl. When mixed well, then combine them with your dry ingredients.
  • Add in the chocolate chips and mix thoroughly so they are spread throughout.
  • After greasing the muffin tin, pour the batter in.
  • Meanwhile, make your sauce by first melting the coconut oil.
  • Combine the melted coconut oil with the orange juice, honey, and cocoa. Mix well.
  • Pour some of the sauce over each muffin.
  • I normally cook my muffins for 20 minutes, but this one I ended up cooking for 24. I think this was due to the extra liquid in it.
  • When finished cooking, let cool, and then eat! 🙂

Lori

4 thoughts on “Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins with Chocolate Orange Sauce

  1. HJummmmm – I have never throught about orange and chocolate. I would try it but I don’t know how I would like it. Guess I can’t say that until I try one 🙂 I’m so glad you liked the way they turned out!

    Like

    • Doug doesn’t like orange and chocolate together either (though he mostly doesn’t like anything with his chocolate…give it to him pure!) I, however, think the combination is the best ever! You can buy some dark chocolate candy bars with orange in them at the store (chocolate is low-glycemic)…Lindt is a brand we like. That would be a way to figure out if you like the tastes together or not.

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Sunshine Award…Bringing Sunshine to My Day! :-) | Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Patriotic Cookie Dough, Fruit, & Cream Parfait – My 100th Recipe!! | Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

I would love to hear from you...

