Apple and Sweet Potato Wrap

We were hungry, it was already at least an hour late for even a “late lunch,” and there wasn’t much in the house to make. That was our situation today as I scrambled around the kitchen, trying to come up with something we would enjoy. I have to admit that it is quite challenging when you don’t have much in the house to choose from….yes, I need to go grocery shopping.  🙂

So, I took a major chance and tried some ingredients I have never had together, two of which Doug doesn’t like. But, he was a trooper and up for trying my creation, and though we both were a bit hesitant about taking our first bite, we actually liked it!

Image

Image

APPLE AND SWEET POTATO WRAP

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1/2 of a large sweet potato
  • 1 apple
  • cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp cream cheese
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 3-4 flour tortillas

Directions:

  • Dice up the onions, and slice up the sweet potatoes and apple.
  • In a large skillet, melt your coconut oil on medium heat.
  • Add in the sweet potatoes, because they will take the longest to cook. Sprinkle cinnamon over them.
  • After a few minutes, add the apples and onions into the skillet. Add a bit more cinnamon.
  • Cook until the sweet potatoes are soft. (Turn down the heat on the skillet if you notice the potatoes beginning to burn.)
  • When it is all pretty much finished cooking, add in the 2 tbsp of cream cheese. Stir it around and let it melt and coat the vegetables.
  • Meanwhile, warm the tortillas
  • Serve immediately
8 thoughts on “Apple and Sweet Potato Wrap

  1. I must be honest with you here Sis! My tastebuds are telling me to run on this one! Apple and Sweet Potato just doesn’t seem like it would go well at all. Any chance you could maybe explain how these two very different ingredients melded together to please your tastebuds? It is amazing that you are trying all the cool and different ideas! I love it!

    Like

    • Well, I appreciate your honesty! Doug thought the same thing! Truth be told, I wasn’t sure about it either as I was making it. It has been a while since I made these so I don’t know if I could explain how they went together in a pleasing way….all I can say is they just did. 🙂 And that says a lot since Doug has always hated sweet potatoes. 🙂 The apple has the stronger taste than the sweet potato….I think that is how they are able to go well together.

      Like

I would love to hear from you...

