Blackberry Stuffed Baked Apple with Crumble Topping

For some reason when I went to bed last night, I was thinking about what I would make for breakfast in the morning, and this rich, fruity idea is what came to mind!

Though I had no idea if this combination was a good idea, my first bite told me it was! Breakfast? Sure, why not!? Dessert? Definitely! 🙂

All cooked & ready to eat!Image

Here is what it looked like when I cut into it…

Image

BLACKBERRY STUFFED BAKED APPLE WITH CRUMBLE TOPPING

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

*Serving Size: 1-2 people

Ingredients:

  • 1 Apple (I used red)
  • Blackberries (enough to stuff the apple with…this will depend on your apple. Plus, some to put around the bottom of the dish)
  • 1 Orange
  • 1 1/2-2 tbsp Almond Flour
  • 1/2-1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1-2 pats of butter, softened

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  • Wash and core the apple. Make sure not to break out the bottom of the apple or what you fill it with will leak out. You will want to take out more than just the core, so that there is enough of a hole that you can put plenty of goodies inside.
  • Place the apple inside of a small baking dish (I used a Pyrex one).
  • Wash the blackberries and start filling the apple with them until about half full.
  • Slice the orange in half and squeeze out some juice from one half into the apple and over the blackberries.
  • Make your crumble topping by adding together the flour, cinnamon, and butter.
  • Put some of the crumbles on top of the blackberries.
  • Now add more blackberries to the apple until it is full.
  • Squeeze more juice from the orange over them, and then add more of your crumble mixture over the top. 
  • With any leftover room in your small baking dish, place blackberries around the bottom of it, using the other half of the orange to squeeze juice over them.
  • Add the crumble topping to these as well.
  • I added a little bit of water to the bottom of the dish since orange juice is sticky, and I didn’t want everything to get crusted to the bottom. (I don’t really know if I needed to do this.)
  • Bake for 30 minutes. (The apple still had crispness to it at this point, so if you prefer softer then cook longer.)
  • Serve hot, and enjoy!
6 thoughts on “Blackberry Stuffed Baked Apple with Crumble Topping

  1. Hi honey – here I am. You know I have never had a baked apple – no kidding and you say “Core” the apple, I have no idea how one would do that. Do you have something to core them with???? Inquiry minds want to know!!!!

    Like

    • Yay! Good to see you! 🙂 There is actually an apple corer (which yes, I do have)….but you could manage it with a knife I think…you would just have to be real careful not to go through the bottom, and it would probably be a bit more challenging.

      Like

  2. I find this to be such a culinary treat! I would never have thought to make anything like this! You have turned your hobby into a beautiful art and I’m enjoying the evolution! Thanks and I look forward to the culinary ride!

    Like

    • You should totally try a version of this at home! Pick whatever you want to go in it and try it! Super yummy! Thanks for all your encouragement Jim!

      Like

I would love to hear from you...

