Twice Baked Savory Acorn Squash

My hubby bought some acorn squash for me the other day, knowing I wanted to do something creative with it.  So it sat on our kitchen counter…..day 1 passed by…day 2…day 3…day 4…with me occasionally looking at it and contemplating. I had some thoughts, I really did, but nothing that was really grabbing me…until tonight.

I have never “twice baked” anything, no less a type of squash that I have never even cooked before. But the idea popped into my head and wouldn’t go away. 🙂 The problem was, would I make it sweet or savory? I thought both had the potential of being absolutely delicious…quite the dilemna, I know. 🙂

So, what was a girl to do? I made both, and decided to first post my hubby’s favorite: the savory one. Though the sweet one was my favorite, don’t doubt for a second….I thought this one was really, really good!

Image

Image

Image

Image

TWICE BAKED SAVORY ACORN SQUASH

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Serving Size: 2 people

Ingredients:

  • 1 acorn squash
  • 4 cloves of fresh garlic
  • 2 tsp fresh thyme
  • 4 tbsp red onion
  • 5 tbsp shaved Parmesan cheese
  • 3 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  • Cut a whole acorn squash in half, cleaning out the seeds on both sides.
  • Place each half into a baking dish, or a cookie sheet. I preferred putting them in separate baking dishes (I didn’t have one large enough that they both would fit), because so much juice leaked out.
  • Sprinkle 1 tbsp of olive oil onto each half and give it a few minutes to soak in.
  • Flip the squash over and cook open side down for 35 minutes, or until insides are soft enough to mash.
  • While the squash is cooking, dice the red onions, and cut up the thyme and garlic.
  • Put 1 tbsp of olive oil in a skillet and saute the onions, garlic, and thyme until garlic begins to brown. Take off stove.
  • When Squash is ready, scoop out the insides leaving a thick enough layer so that the skins maintain structure.
  • Place the squash in a bowl with 4 tbsp Parmesan cheese and mash thoroughly.
  • Add in the onions, garlic, and thyme and mix well.
  • Divide the squash mixture evenly between the two halves.
  • Cook for 10 minutes (Your stove should still be heated up to 425 degrees.)
  • After the 10 minutes, add 1/2 tbsp of shaved Parmesan cheese to each side. Cook for 5 more minutes, so the cheese has a chance to melt.
  • Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Twice Baked Savory Acorn Squash

  1. Now your talking – I love squash but never seemed to cook it when you were kids or even now. I am going to try this – I know KK will try it with me. 🙂 Love it!!!!

    Like

I would love to hear from you...

