Black Bean, Feta, & Spinach Stuffed Tomato

I wanted something simple for lunch. Simple, yet still good.

A few ingredients, a little chopping, lots of nutrients, no actual cooking, satisfying, and yummy. How do you like the sound of that? 🙂

Image

BLACK BEAN, FETA, & SPINACH STUFFED TOMATO

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Serving Size: 2 people

Ingredients:

  • 2 large tomatoes
  • 4 tbsp red wine vinegar (could be substituted with something else you may have a preference for, like balsamic.)
  • 4 tbsp feta cheese
  • 2 cups black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 2 sprigs Rosemary
  • Black pepper (to taste)

Directions:

  • Make holes in the tops of your tomatoes and cut out the middle, being careful not to break through the bottom.
  • Measure, drain, and rinse the black beans.
  • Wash and cut up the two sprigs of Rosemary.
  • Combine feta, beans, spinach, Rosemary, pepper, and red wine vinegar. Mix well.
  • Place the bean/feta combination inside each tomato. With any extra, line your plate with it.
  • Eat! 🙂

*Note: I hardly eat any gluten in my diet, but that is a bi-product of eating low-glycemic, not because I need to be gluten free. That said, I am certainly not an expert on gluten free foods. From the research I have done, red wine vinegar is considered gluten free, though there is some debate on it, and I wanted to be sure to make you aware of that.*

6 thoughts on “Black Bean, Feta, & Spinach Stuffed Tomato

  1. Now I can handle this I think. Looks like something quick and easy but yet yummy. I’m still not sure of Feta cheese – I don’t know what that tastes like either 🙂

    Like

    • Feta definitely has a harsher taste to it. It is often used in Mediterranean foods. I like it a lot, but too much of it can be overpowering. You could try blue cheese crumbles and switch the sauce to balsamic.

      Like

  2. I think I would definitely prefer the balsamic. Do you prefer the red wine vinegar? More rosemary I see….very interesting Lori. You must like rosemary! This looks absolutely delicious!

    Like

    • I usually use balsamic on things, but switched it up yesterday with the red wine vinegar. Balsamic is probably my favorite of the two. Yes, I think I am really starting to like Rosemary. Thanks! 🙂

      Like

I would love to hear from you...

