Blooper Reel

As someone who has only been cooking for less than 2 months, I think I have a lot more crazy things happen in the kitchen than others of you who have been cooking for much longer. At least, that’s my hope! 🙂 So far, the kitchen has withstood all the craziness…sometimes I think barely. And my hubby has been so gracious as he encourages me and watches me “create” and “make a mess” and sometimes even “destroy!” 🙂

So today you get to read my “Blooper Reel”…at least, the things I can remember of it. I truly wish you could watch it on video, because I am pretty sure words on a screen won’t due it justice.

My reasons for sharing it are as follows:

  • To put a smile on some of your faces today.
  • To just be honest that even when I post recipes that have come out great, there is a “Behind the Scenes” that exists that is not always pretty. A lot of times we only see the good stuff on blogs, facebook, etc, so I thought I would share some of the ugly, in case someone would be encouraged by it today. (Patty Nguyen, over at her food blog, was part of what inspired me to do this…Patty, I loved your honesty about the glaze all over the carpet! I told you that you were not alone! 🙂 )
  • Mostly, I hope for this to be an encouragement to those like me who are just starting out on their cooking adventures. There are many challenges along the way, things don’t always turn out the way you hope, things get messy, you may ruin a few cooking utensils…but don’t give up.

Without further ado, the “Blooper Reel”:

  • I have melted parts of one spatula….who knew you couldn’t just leave it resting against the hot skillet?!
  • I have broken two other spatulas:

Image

  • I recently dropped an open can of black beans on the floor, leaving mass amounts of brown liquid everywhere.
  • I doubled a recipe the other day before I checked that I had all the ingredients…let’s just say that I had to throw it out and start all over.
  • Last night when I was cleaning the kitchen, I had at least 6 chocolate chips rolling around the kitchen floor, one so glued to it that I still haven’t been able to get it up. 🙂 Not to mention the kale, cheese, and wet flour…it is kind of a danger zone for your feet where you seriously want to be wearing something to protect them.
  • There are currently at least 8 large spots on our counters where honey seems to be cemented on, 1 spot where I normally keep the honey stored, and even our camera hasn’t been able to escape harm. And just in case you thought that was the complete story with the honey, here is a current picture of the honey container:

Image

  • And lastly, but certainly not least… The other night I was attempting to make the Almond Flavored Cookie Dough Balls with Dark Chocolate Chips and I couldn’t understand why I kept needing to put more and more of the pure almond extract in. No matter how much I put in, it just didn’t taste right. And the more I put in, the worse it seemed to get. (A side note here: my hubby had just picked me up a couple bottles of some different things that I needed.) I noticed that the new bottle had brown liquid instead of clear, which I thought was weird. But remember, I have only been cooking for less than 2 months; I figured almond extract just came several different ways. This was my lesson in reading the bottle labels, because I was pouring tons of vanilla into the bowl instead of almond. The result:  I had to remake the recipe yesterday, I wasted tons of my new vanilla, and the very, very vanilla tasting dough still remains in our refrigerator. 🙂

Image

Some of us may have more mishaps than others, but none of us will ever be “perfect” in the kitchen, or anywhere else for that matter. That said, I thought I would finish out with this quote that I love from Brene Brown: “Perfectionism crushes creativity-which is why one of the most effective ways to start recovering from perfectionism is to start creating.”

Let’s create!!!

Lori

17 thoughts on “Blooper Reel

  1. Well, it sounds to me like you are having a ball in the kitchen, even with all the mishaps! I really like your blog Lori and I keep in touch. Looking forward to seeing what you are cooking next.

    Like

    • Thanks so much, and thanks for following my blog! I really am having so much fun, which is amazing since I have always hated cooking. I can now say I love it! 🙂 I am enjoying looking around your blog…you cook so many yummy things!

      Like

  2. We’ve all been there, and still have those types of moments every so often, Lori! You’ve come such a long way for someone who’s only recently started cooking – very impressive, really. Keep your chin up and shrug your shoulders at the mishaps – the journey is so very much worth it 🙂

    Like

    • P.S. I am trying out your sweet potato wedges tonight! I will probably post them tomorrow. I was trying to figure out what side to bring to our small group tonight and this came to mind right away. Thanks! 🙂

      Like

  3. Been there, done that! I look at my “mishaps” as necessary bumps along the way to truly appreciate any successes I’m rewarded with…as well as the funny memories 🙂 Keep it up – you’re doing great – and far more adventurous than I was initially!

    Like

  4. Lori, this sounds a lot like my adventures when I started too. In fact, even now, I get a little hasty, trying to do too many things at the same time, without proper planning and then have to prioritize. Good luck!

    Like

  5. Hehe, love this Lori! So funny because as soon as I saw the title of your post I was reminded of our conversation about my glaze mishap. Now you’ve inspired me to keep a running log of all my kitchen booboos! Wanna know something funny? I melted a spatula just yesterday! But in my defense it was a cheap one I bought at the Dollar Store for my classroom kitchen. 😉

    Like

    • That’s so funny Patty! I am laughing so hard about the spatula….I am not the only one….woohoo! 🙂 Thanks for sharing that….love it!!

      Like

  6. You are a hoot Lori – I was always told that making a big mess in the kitchen while cooking turns out wonderful food 🙂 You are so funny – I love it and I love you are cooking – I am so very, very proud of you!!!!! Yee Haw!!!!!

    Like

I would love to hear from you...

