Ganache Cookies Coated in Walnuts

Image

I am still wondering how these are going to end up turning out….they are in the freezer right now, hardening up. So, I haven’t “officially” eaten one. However, I can definitely tell you that what I taste tested on my fingers was very, very good! πŸ™‚

Like so many things in life, these were not at all what I had planned when I started out. I had something quite different in mind, and yet, again like so many things in life, sometimes the unexpected is better, more full, richer even. I am hopeful that this is the case with these yummy treats!

Image

Image

GANACHE COOKIES COATED IN WALNUTS

  • Servings: 24-30 cookies
  • Print

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Serving Size: 24-30 cookies

Image

  • About 2 cups dark chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk (just the top thick part)
  • 1 1/3 cups honey
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2-3 tsp pure almond extract
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • Crushed Walnuts (Or substitute another nut)

Image

  • Put the chocolate chips and the coconut milk in a large sauce pan over low to medium heat, letting the chocolate melt.
  • Once the chocolate has melted, add in the rest of the ingredients (not including the nuts), stirring well.
  • Put the ganache into a large bowl, putting it in the refrigerator so it can cool. I let mine cool 2 hours and it probably could have used being cooled longer. The more cooled it is, the easier it will be to shape them. I ended up with a few funny looking shapes. πŸ™‚
  • While the ganache is hardening, put the nuts in a ziplock bag and smash them.
  • Line a container that you have a lid for and can go in the refrigerator with waxed paper.
  • This is the messy part…once the ganache has hardened enough, then use your hands to get some out of the bowl, roll it in the nuts, and then flatten it into a nice looking, thin, oval shape on the wax paper.
  • When you have done this with all of them, put the lid on the container and put it in the freezer. (Updated to say: I just checked on them and they don’t seem to get hard enough in the refrigerator, so freezer it is.) Keep them in there until ready to eat. (I’ll take mine out tomorrow night for our small group.)

Note: For those who are allergic to nuts, you can make this without the pure almond extract and the walnuts. I did this with some of mine and instead of rolling it in the walnuts, I covered it in a mixture of cinnamon and cocoa.

Image

19 thoughts on “Ganache Cookies Coated in Walnuts

  1. If these end up tasting even half as good as they look, I think you have a hit! The flavors of the ingredients sound delicious:) Love the new look of your site too!

    Like

    • Ahh, thank you so much Nancy! And I am glad you like the new look of the site! I have been having fun experimenting and getting to use my graphic art hobby! You are always so full of encouragement, which I greatly appreciate!

      Like

  2. Lori, I still can’t believe you just started cooking. You have some of the most delicious looking things in my feed! These look incredible – and I bet the walnuts add a lovely texture and nuttiness to the whole picture. So yummy.

    Like

    • Wow Lisa…your post really means a lot to me! How encouraging to this newbie! Thank you! Sometimes (or really all the time) I can’t believe that I have only been cooking for 2 months either!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Ganache Cookies Coated with Cinnamon & Cocoa | Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

I would love to hear from you...

