Mexican Breakfast Pizza

Image

There is never a bad day to have breakfast for dinner, is there? ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know about you, but there has always been something great to me about breakfast at night…maybe it is a bit nostalgic of me, bringing back fun memories from when I was a kid.

Well, breakfast is exactly what we had for dinner tonight. This recipe was inspired by my fun and super talented (both in cooking and in photography) friend, Patty. If you haven’t been over to her site, you totally need to go! When she made her Mexican Breakfast Pizza the other day, I knew without a doubt that I needed to try it out! I made mine a little different, but I never would have thought of this great idea if it wasn’t for her! (Thanks Patty!!)

I have cooked a lot of breakfasts over the last couple months and this has made the top five for sure….absolutely enjoyed it so much!!

Image

MEXICAN BREAKFAST PIZZA

*Adapted by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen from Patty’s wonderful recipe at Patty Nguyen

Image

  • 1 avocado
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cocktail tomato
  • 1 tsp lemon juice (from a real lemon)
  • 2 cloves fresh garlic
  • Cilantro (to your liking…I used lots)
  • Black pepper
  • 2 flour tortillas (I used soft taco size)
  • Monterrey Jack Cheese

Image

  • Chop up the tomato, garlic, and cilantro.
  • To make the guacamole, put the avocado in a mixing bowl and smash it up. Add in a tsp of lemon juice, tomatoes, garlic, cilantro, and pepper. Mix thoroughly. Set aside.
  • Put the 4 eggs in a skillet, making sure not to break the yolks.
  • As they begin to cook, put 2 tortillas into a toaster oven, toasting them to your liking. Ours actually came out hard, instead of just warmed up, but I actually liked that. I truly was able to eat it like a pizza, and didn’t even need utensils.
  • Cook the eggs until the whites are white and not opaque. (Depending on how done you want your eggs will effect what you do next. If you want your yoke runny, you will want to make sure to move onto the next step while the yoke is still runny. If not, cook longer.)
  • Turn your oven onto Broil. Unless your pan can tolerate the high heat, leave the door open and your handle out as you broil the dish for about 2 minutes. Like I have mentioned before, make sure you use a skillet that is safe to do this with, and be careful that the handle doesnโ€™t get too hot. You may need to grab it with a pot holder, even though it has been outside the oven.
  • While eggs are broiling, put a nice layer of the guacamole onto each tortilla, covering them well.
  • When the eggs are done, put 2 eggs on top of each tortilla.
  • Add Monterrey Jack cheese and garnish with extra cilantro.

Image

14 thoughts on “Mexican Breakfast Pizza

  1. Ummm guacamole?? I adore guacamole!! This is why we’re buddies, Lori! Your breakfast pizza looks amazeballs. Nom nom nom. Thanks for the super sweet shout out–it made my night. I’ve been dreading the end of my weekend and you just made it much more pleasant! โ™กโ™กโ™ก

    Liked by 1 person

    • โ€œAmazeballsโ€โ€ฆ..love it Patty! ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree, this is one of the many reasons we are buddies! ๐Ÿ™‚ We could add eggs, broken spatulas, messes, and a love for cute animals to that list! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for your kind words, and you are very welcome! So glad it made your nightโ€ฆyay! Sorry to hear you have been dreading the end of your weekend! By the way, how do you make those hearts? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • I use the WP app on my phone to respond to comments and the heart icon is on the symbols keyboard. There used to be two heart icons but my phone updated and now there is only one. Not cool!

        Like

      • I’ll have to try that….yep, not cool that there is only one now. ๐Ÿ™‚ I use the WP app sometimes, but my blog format shows up so weird on it. Haven’t been able to fix that yet. Someday…. ๐Ÿ™‚ I do hope you sleep well Patty, and that tomorrow is a good day for you!!

        Like

  2. Blessed genius both you and Patty! I was wanting breakfast for dinner this weekend but couldn’t think of anything tantalizing. Too bad I didn’t see this sooner! But I’ll definitely be trying this on a whole wheat pita this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good to see you! Doing this on a whole wheat pita sounds wonderful! Let me know how you like it! And it will be fun to hear what other changes you may try to it.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Sunny Side Egg & Hummus Breakfast Pizza

I would love to hear from you...

