Chicken Fajita Casserole

Image

I am continuing to have fun experimenting around with quinoa flour. I came up with this particular recipe for our small group last night, and  I didn’t get to taste it ahead of time, so imagine my relief when everyone loved it! I brought it thinking I would get to bring home lots of leftovers…ya, not so much. 🙂 I kept seeing everyone (including myself) go back for seconds. 🙂 It did my heart good!

This time instead of making the crust plain, I added some fresh spices into it that went well with the dish that I was hoping to create.

This is definitely a keeper around our house! So full of taste, and so many things in it that are good for you! Sometimes I can’t believe I ever thought that low-glycemic and/or gluten-free food was yucky tasting! No way! I have always loved food, but now I love it even more!

Image

Image

Chicken Fajita Casserole

  • Servings: 8-12 People
  • Print

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Image

  • 3 cups quinoa flour
  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 4 fresh cloves garlic, minced
  • Lots of fresh cilantro 🙂
  • 3 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • Fajita Seasoning (I used Ortega)
  • 16 ounces of cream cheese
  • 3 15 ounce cans of black beans
  • 6 avocados
  • About 9 cherry tomatoes, fourthed
  • 1-2 tsp honey
  • 1 cup Monterrey Jack Cheese
  • 2 1/2 Mexican onions
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 miniature limes (or 1 normal size one)

Image

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Mince the garlic and chop the cilantro.
  • In a mixing bowl, combine the flour with the softened butter. Mix until it forms clumps. Add in 2 of the minced cloves of garlic, along with some chopped up cilantro. Slowly add in the 3/4 cup of water. At this point, I just started using my hands to mix it well and make it into a nice dough texture.
  • In a 9 x 12 baking dish, spread out the dough.
  • Put it in the oven for 20 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, chop up the chicken and Mexican onions, and cook them on high in a large skillet with a tbsp of olive oil.
  • When mostly cooked, add in fajita seasoning. When finished cooking, set aside until the dough has cooked for its 20 minutes.
  • When the dough is ready, layer your chicken over it in the dish. (Leave the stove on 350 degrees, because you are going to use it again in just a minute.)
  • Next, layer the cream cheese over the chicken as best you can. Make sure it is flat and not super thick in some areas and super thin in others.
  • After rinsing and draining the black beans, pour them over the cream cheese.
  • Cook in the oven for 20 minutes.
  • While this is cooking, now it is time to make the guacamole.Prepare by chopping up lots of cilantro (to your liking…I enjoy lots!), mincing the final 2 cloves of garlic, and cutting up the tomatoes. Set aside.
  • Then you will need to slice open all six of the avocados and scoop them out into a large bowl. When you have done this, you want to mash it up.
  • Cut your limes and squeeze the juice over the avocado. You might want to do a little juice at a time and taste test to make sure it is not too strong.
  • Add in the garlic, cilantro, and tomatoes, mixing well.
  • I have never done this before, but I also added about a tsp of honey and it added a fun flavor to the entire dish.
  • When the timer goes off and the food is finished in the oven, layer the top of the dish with the guacamole.
  • Finally, sprinkle Monterrey Jack Cheese over the top.

Image

3 thoughts on “Chicken Fajita Casserole

I would love to hear from you...

