Strawberry Lemonade Tart Drizzled with Dark Chocolate Ganache

Image

A week or so ago I saw these amazing Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes over at Chelsweets. (Chelsey is a wonderful baker who comes up with such creative ideas…you should definitely check out her site!) Anyway, I told Chelsey that I really wanted to try to come up with a low-glycemic recipe for her cupcakes so I could have some, because they just sound so super delicious!

Well, I did try Chelsey…I currently have 22 unfrosted, not so yummy cupcakes taking up room on my kitchen counters. πŸ™‚ Let’s just say that they did not make the cut, I won’t be bringing them to Fiesta Friday like I had planned, my kitchen is a mess, and it has been a long day of cooking. πŸ™‚

All that said, I couldn’t entirely give up! With the inspiration from Chelsey’s cupcakes and some last minute quick thinking, I made a Strawberry Lemonade Tart…Almond flour crust layered with strawberry lemonade filling, followed by strawberries on top, and drizzled with dark chocolate ganache! I really, really loved the strawberry lemonade filling!

So, Fiesta Friday’ers.…here I come with some fresh strawberry lemonade all wrapped up in a delicious tart! And as always, I am so looking forward to the creativity each of you will bring to this party!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Strawberry Lemonade Tart Drizzled with Dark Chocolate Ganache

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Image

For Crust:

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil

For Strawberry Lemonade Filling:

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup strawberries pureed
  • Zest from 1 lemon
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup coconut milk-only the thick stuff on top

For Fruit:

  • Strawberries

For Ganache:

  • 1/2 cup coconut milk- thick stuff on top
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract

Image

For Crust:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • In a mixing bowl, combine the coconut oil, vanilla, and honey. When it is thoroughly mixed, add the egg and continue to mix.
  • In a large mixing bowl combine the dry ingredients: almond flour, salt, and baking soda. When mixed, add in the wet ones, stirring well.
  • Use a bit of coconut oilΒ  to grease a pie plate, and then spread the dough evenly…all the way to the edges. Make it all as flat as possible so that it will cook evenly. (I made less dough than my last tart recipe using a pie plate and this worked out really well…it came out great!)
  • Now it is ready to go in the oven. I cooked it for 20-25 minutes. So, start at the lower time andΒ  just keep a close eye on it.
  • When it is lightly browned and seems cooked through, take out and let cool.

For Strawberry Lemonade Filling:

  • Zest a lemon and cut up and puree your strawberries in a food processor.
  • Combine puree, zest, vanilla, and coconut milk in a large mixing bowl. Use a hand held mixer to combine ingredients and fluff it up. (You could stop here and just use this for your filling….not sure if it would be thick enough, but it is certainly yummy enough at this point.)
  • Slowly add in your softened butter and blend. (I had problems getting the butter fully blended, so I just added a little more coconut milk (the thick part) and that really helped.)
  • When the crust is finished and has cooled a bit, pour this filling on top of it.

For Strawberries:

  • Cut them up into the size you want and place them on top of the strawberry lemonade filling.

For Ganache:

  • In a small saucepan, over medium heat, combine and melt the chocolate chips with the coconut milk.
  • Once the chocolate is completely melted, add the vanilla.
  • Continue to heat for a bit in order for the vanilla taste to settle in, stirring to make sure everything is mixed well together.
  • When finished, drizzle i over the strawberries on your tart.
  • Refrigerate until ready to eat.

Image

53 thoughts on “Strawberry Lemonade Tart Drizzled with Dark Chocolate Ganache

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #12 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Lori, you did it again. Girl, how do you keep from eating the whole thing? Strawberries and ganache are a delicious combo. I’m constantly enticed by your gluten free and low glycemic recipes. I’m kicking myself for not having tried almond flour yet. Next project will have to be a Lori project. Yum, just love that thick stuff on the top of the coconut milk!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, thanks Ngan! And thanks for co-hosting! I think the only way I keep from eating all these things myself is I bring them to other people’s houses to share! πŸ™‚ I brought this to our small group and I only got one little piece. πŸ™‚ I think you would love almond flour…well, I am convinced everyone would love almond flour. Hehehe. I think it adds a richness to baked goods that I just abslutely love! Only problem? It is definitely expensive. I wish I liked coconut flour nearly as much as I liked this stuff! Yes, the thick stuff on top of the coconut milk is great!
      P.S. Heard you and the lovely Patty are going to get to meet! I want to come! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Do you buy the almond flour pre-ground or do you grind whole almonds? I wonder which way is cheaper and/or better? I do love almonds, but just have never thought to make almond flour from it.

        You will definitely be there with with us in spirit, Lori! I’m sure Patty will take photos. Though I do have to say I have some slight meeting-the-blog-friend-anxiety. What if Patty thinks I’m strange or a complete dork? πŸ™‚

        Like

      • I buy it pre-ground. After doing some research, the brand I get is Honeyville. I love it so much! I am not sure which way would be cheaper…good question!
        I can’t wait to see the photos! I understand the anxiety. I know she is going to totally love you though!!

        Like

  3. Lori, Lori, Lori…you’ve done it again! This looks fantabulous πŸ™‚ I really must try implementing almond flour into my baking. Can you taste a hint of the almond? I imagine it pairs beautifully with the fruit filling. Thanks for bringing another delicious treat to share with us at Fiesta Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you sweet Nancy! And glad you are co-hosting! I LOVE almond flour! I think it adds a richness to baked goods that normal flour does not. I don’t know if I taste the almond per say, but it just seems richer….that is the only way I know to explain it.

      Like

    • Thanks Alex! I love almond flour! It is expensive…that is the downside. But it is so good! It adds a richness that normal flour does not. Love, love, love it!

      Like

  4. Beautiful, and love the creativity even after a disappointing, exhausting experiment. You truly are a better cook than most of us for that! I love the idea of the strawberry lemonade filling? Was it pudding-y or cheesecake-y?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is a huge compliment coming from you Julianna! Wow, thank you for such wonderful words of encouragement! πŸ™‚ Sending a big piece over right now…. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. ohh.. these look so good. Love it that they are so low on sugar. I love working with the ingredients you’ve listed and always looking out for such recipes.

    Like

  6. This is such a creative idea, and I’m impressed by your dedication to baking and FF…I might have given up after the cupcake fails. The strawberry lemonade filling sounds awesome!

    Like

  7. Lori – Your tart looks so beautiful, WOW!!! Awesome job. The only thing I must say is your father informed me that he loves Tarts which I never knew. I have heard of Tarts but never really knew what they were. Well I told your if he wants to eat Tarts then we need to come see you – ROFLOL

    Like

    • Thank you! It was fun to make! Tarts are one of my favorite things too! I will have to make you guys one when we are there….I’ll bring my flour and stuff! πŸ™‚

      Like

I would love to hear from you...

