Quinoa, Marinara, & Asiago Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Image

When I saw these portobello mushrooms at the store, I just knew I needed to create something with them! I absolutely love mushrooms, and I have never taken the chance to make portobello ones before.

When I was thinking about what to stuff them with, the one thing I knew for sure was “cheese.” As I was looking around, I thought of a fellow blogger, Ivy over at Ivy Mosquito,…because I knew she hated Parmesan cheese. So, Ivy, I want you to know that I skipped on past it for you and went with the Asiago…hoping you like it! And I am personally so glad I did walk past that Parmesan, because the Asiago turned out so wonderful with these mushrooms!

This combination of quinoa, marinara, and Asiago with the portobellos was absolutely delicious!! Loved them!

Image

Image

Quinoa, Marinara, & Asiago Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Image

  • Portobello mushrooms
  • Homemade red sauce
  • 1/2 cup Quinoa
  • Asiago cheese- to your liking
  • 1 tbsp Olive oil

Image

  • Make homemade low-glycemic marinara sauce…recipe found HERE. (We love this sauce! It tastes so good!)
  • Put 1 cup of water into a saucepan and boil.
  • When the water comes to a boil, add in 1/2 cup quinoa until it begins to boil again.
  • Reduce to medium heat, place a lid on the saucepan, and let simmer for about 12 minutes or until it has sucked up all the water. (You may want to check on it a few times. If all the water soaks up too soon the quinoa will become really crunchy.).
  • When this is finished, take it off of the heat, stir it, cover again, and let sit for 15 minutes.
  • Grate the fresh Asiago cheese and put aside.
  • Wash the mushrooms, cutting off the stem and clearing out the inside a bit.
  • When the marinara sauce and quinoa are ready, now you are ready to stuff the mushrooms. First place a layer of the sauce, then the quinoa, and then the cheese.
  • Pour the olive oil in a skillet and heat it up. Carefully add all the mushrooms to the skillet and cook until the mushroom are warm throughout, and the bottoms are a little browned.
  • Ready to eat! πŸ™‚

Note: (You will end up with extra quinoa and marinara sauce unless you are stuffing lots of portobello mushrooms.)

Image

28 thoughts on “Quinoa, Marinara, & Asiago Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

  1. Yaaay πŸ˜€ Awesome, I love it. i have no idea what are the most of ingredients but I love it. πŸ˜€

    I love the mushrooms, and heading to Google for my info πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These look fabulous, Lori! Love everything about them. πŸ™‚ I am definitely making these…can’t wait! Thank you for your kind words and prayers, I will be getting back to you via email soon. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thank you so much sweet Nancy! They really were so good! I hope you do get a chance to try them! And you are so welcome…I will continue to pray, and no rush on the email! ❀

      Like

    • Thank you for your kind words Lily, and thanks so much for stopping by! I love quinoa and am pretty convinced that it can go with everything! Hehehe. πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Pingback: Creating Beauty in the Kitchen: Lemon Shortcake Tart | feasting with friends

I would love to hear from you...

