Cinnamon Chocolate Mousse Pie

Image

When we go over to someone’s house for dinner, I love getting to be the one to bring dessert! Honestly, I love cooking all sorts of things, but baking?! I think this just might be my favorite aspect of creating beauty in the kitchen.

Maybe it is because I have a major sweet tooth. Have I ever mentioned that my hubby jokes that my family takes a break from dessert to have meals? πŸ˜› I come from a major dessert loving family! When we go back to visit, there will be cake, pies, ice cream, candy bars, candy, ice cream bars, etc. No, I am not exaggerating! I can’t wait to introduce them to my low-glycemic desserts! I just know they will love them and be so surprised at how they taste like they have just as much sugar and are just as bad for you! πŸ˜€

Or maybe I love baking because it always seems to prove a bit more challenging. And I do mean always. πŸ˜€

Tonight’s challenge? A yummy dessert that is low-glycemic and doesn’t use refined sugars of course, but also one that does not have nuts in it due to an allergy. You may not think leaving the nuts out would be hard, but it is when you usually bake with almond flour. πŸ™‚ So, I used coconut flour…yet another challenge due to the fact that neither hubby or I prefer the taste of it. I actually love coconut, so I don’t understand my lack of enjoyment of coconut flour. Weird. That said, I needed to make the crust in a way that wouldn’t taste too much like coconut.

Guess what? It came out great! As the little guy in the below picture said, “You did good!” πŸ˜€ I just love this pic of him taking a big bite of my pie!

BenD

There were no leftovers! Just an empty pie pan! πŸ™‚

Image

Image

Cinnamon Chocolate Mousse Pie

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Image

For Pie Crust

  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup butter

For Filling

  • The thick stuff from 2 cans of refrigerated coconut milk
  • 2 1/2 tbsp cocoa
  • 6 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • Dark chocolate shavings

Image

For Pie Crust

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees
  • Combine all the dry ingredients for the crust in one mixing bowl, and combine all the wet ingredients in another. After these are mixed well then combine them together into one bowl.
  • Grease a pie pan.
  • Press the crust into the pan.
  • Cook 10 minutes uncovered. Then cover the edges with tin foil (shiny side up) and cook for about 10 more minutes.
  • When finished, remove from oven and let cool completely.

For Filling

  • Put all the ingredients in one mixing bowl, making sure to only use the thick parts of the coconut milk…for me, this was a little over half of each can.
  • Use an electric mixer to whip all the ingredients together really well.
  • When crust is completely cool, pour in the filling.
  • I shaved some chocolate from a dark chocolate bar and sprinkled it on top.
  • Refrigerate to let the filling continue to harden.

Image

54 thoughts on “Cinnamon Chocolate Mousse Pie

  1. Looks awesome, really like the way the crust came out. And you can never go wrong with any kind of chocolate mousse (just made some over the weekend and topped with homemade whipped cream and blackberries). πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome. I love baking and a pie seems so intimidating! And this is used w coconut flour? Hmmmm I would love to bake with that or almond flour. I am thinking instead of a pie if I baked mini cupcakes will that flour be great for it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • This one was easy…you could totally do it! If I just started cooking 4 months ago and did it, I know you could! I do love cupcakes! I have a couple on my recipe page if you want to check them out. To be honest, I don’t really like the taste of coconut flour in cupcakes…you can taste the coconut real strong. I am still interested in trying a chocolate cupcake made out of this flour, thinking maybe the strong taste of the chocolate will overpower the coconut. If you do use the coconut flour, you need to make sure to use a lot more eggs than you normally would…I think it is 6 per 12 cupcakes. Coconut flour soaks up a lot of moisture. Personally, I love using almond flour for my cupcakes. It’s more expensive though, which is the down side.

      Like

    • I would try a mixture of the two as coconut flour is quite crumbly. It will give good texture and crumble and the almond with help keep them together and give them a little chew… in a good way. Also of you can use xanthan gum, it will help give them some lift along with the eggs…about a tsp. per cup of flour you use. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Thanks Joanna! I tried my hand at another one this morning…I used 1 cup almond flour and 1/2 cup coconut flour. No eggs this time. It seemed like it was going to work out much better….it did in terms of texture and taste but it still ended up crumbling when I cut into it. I’ll put up that post later this week. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • I was trying to comment for the lady asking about cupcakes but it didn’t go where it was supposed to for some reason??? Anyway…. glad you’re getting it all figured out. It’s really just trial and error in the beginning and a matter of preferrance a lot of the time as far as taste and texture. You are doing an amazing job!!!

        Like

I would love to hear from you...

