Quinoa Flour, Basil, Sun Dried Tomato & Asiago Muffins

Image

I think you know by now that I ❀ muffins….I certainly ❀ baking them! I was just looking on my recipe page and since beginning my cooking adventures 4 months ago, I have already created 7 different muffin recipes. Not surprisingly, they are all sweet! πŸ™‚

So, I am adding this savory muffin recipe to my collection! Unlike quinoa itself, quinoa flour has a strong taste, so I wasn’t sure whether I would end up liking these or not. I am happy to say though that both hubby and I really did, and so did most of our small group…they are often my taste testers! I put a bit of honey in them, which I think softened their taste a bit.

Enjoy!

Image

Image

Image

Quinoa Flour, Basil, Sun Dried Tomato & Asiago Muffins

  • Servings: 18 Muffins
  • Print

*Created by Lori atΒ Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Image

  • 3 cups quinoa flour
  • 1 cup sun dried tomatoes
  • Fresh basil (a nice handful)
  • 2 cups Asiago
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs

Image

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Grate the Asiago, and chop the basil and sun dried tomatoes into tiny pieces.
  • Combine all the dry ingredients in one mixing bowl, and all the wet in another.
  • Then mix all your ingredients together.
  • Spray muffin pan (I wouldn’t recommend using papers like I did..they stuck to them too much.)
  • Pour batter into the muffin pan and cook for 20- 25 minutes.

Image

33 thoughts on “Quinoa Flour, Basil, Sun Dried Tomato & Asiago Muffins

    • They have masked it a bit, but it is still strong…so I think someone would really need to like the taste of quinoa flour. I thought about trying to mix it with another flour…May do that next time.

      Like

  1. I still have not gotten to use quinoa flour yet, but this recipe looks right up my alley with the sun dried tomatoes and basil and asiago, of course! Did you use the wet packed sun dried tomatoes (in a jar) or something else? I’m just asking because I wonder about how the oils on the sun dried tomatoes make the muffins taste. I’m thinking it would add a little bit to mask the stronger flavor of the quinoa flour. I’m going to make these, Lori!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did not use the wet packed one…if you try doing that let me know what you think! I also thought about mixing another flour with the quinoa flour to mask it a bit…

      Like

      • Maybe a little almond flour? I don’t remember if I’ve ever seen the dry packed sundried tomatoes. I will have to check the grocer’s! Hope you’re having a great week, Lori!

        Like

  2. Muffins are so easy to make – you can whip all ingredients in one bowl, put them on the baking pan and bake! Muffins are my favorite things to bake. πŸ˜€

    These savory muffins look so delicious, Lori! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you...

