Special Raspberry Pie for Dad

Image

Its not every year that we get to celebrate Father’s Day with my dad, so it is special whenever we can!

Some things I enjoyย about my dad…

  • His giving heart
  • The way he welcomes even strangers into his home
  • His excitability
  • His contagious laugh
  • His sense of humor

I love you Dad!

Here is a picture that was just takenย of my dad, brother, and I…

Image

I really wanted to make my dad a rhubarb pie…his favorite! But, we couldn’t find any rhubarb that looked good, so we went with the next best thing for him…raspberries! Never having made a raspberry one before proved interesting crazy, as usual. ๐Ÿ™‚ (That’s for another post though. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Image

Image

Image

And look at all my little helpers! My hubby, brother, my mom, my niece, my nephew…all pitched in to make dad one of his favorite pies with help forming the crust, stirring, and extra trips to the store! This was a group effort from dad’s wifey, kids, and grandkids! ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

Okay, so how did everyone like it?

Well, when I asked my nephew if he thought it was good he said, “Its not just good, its great! Its the best pie I have ever had!” Followed by me asking, “Are you just saying that because I am Aunt Lori?” But he assured me it really was that great! ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

And the man of the day? Dad thought it was very good! Mom did too! Yay!ย Image

Honestly, as I write, my nephew and I are thinking about splitting another piece…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here is the recipe I came up with…

Raspberry pie

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchenย 

Ingredients for Crust:

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 to 2 cups honey
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs

Ingredients for Pie Filling:

  • 7ย containers of raspberries
  • 2 cups honey
  • 3 tbs tapioca flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened

Directions for Crust:

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  • Combine all the dry ingredients in one bowl, and the wet ingredients in another.
  • Once they are mixed well combine them together.
  • Put in greased pie pan and cook 15-20 minutes. (You may need to cover the edges with foil so they do not burn.)
  • Take out of the oven and let cool.

Directions for Pie Filling:

  • Wash 3 containers of raspberries and set them aside.
  • Wash the other 4 containers of raspberries and put them in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the honey and butter until they are melted and combined.
  • Then add the tapioca flour, turning up the heat a bit, until the sauce thickens and becomes a bit jelly like.
  • Take it off the burner, and let cool.
  • When the crust has cooled for a while, put the raspberries in there, and then cover them with the sauce.
  • Put in the refrigerator and let cool until ready to eat.

Lori9

59 thoughts on “Special Raspberry Pie for Dad

  1. LOVE when everyone gathers in the kitchen and cooks/bakes! Special memories are always made! I made blueberry lemon waffles for the hubs today for Father’s Day. They were a hit. Recipe on the blog soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww. This is a wonderful post, Lori. Your parents (and you brother, together with the niece & nephew) must be very proud of you – that you get to cook/bake meals for them. ๐Ÿ˜€ I don’t know if I told you this before, but I, too, is so proud and happy for you, Lori. โค I grew up in the kitchen, so I didn't know how it feels to choose cleaning the toilet rather than cooking. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Belated happy father's day to your Dad. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This looks so good, you’re making me want to bake with raspberries! I love that it was a group effort too, I love baking with family. I was starting to teach my nephews to bake, but then my sister moved away ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love that the making of this pie became a family affair. It seems to be the perfect way to celebrate the patriarch of the family on his special day!
    The pie looks fabulous…I’ll take mine with ice cream…just like your dad. ๐Ÿ˜› By the looks of your delicious photos, I bet it was gone in no time!

    Like

    • Thank you so much dear Nancy! It was really special to get to do this for my dad, and so fun to have everyone involved! Want to hear something funny? There was one piece left when I went to bed and when I woke up I noticed half of the piece was gone. Hmmm. Later I almost laughed so hard when my little nephew told me he ate it for breakfast! ROfLol! He DID tell me he loved it, so I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised huh?! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. Pingback: The Ugly Behind the Beauty | Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

  6. Pingback: Raspberry Buttermilk Cake | The Peanut Butter Jar

  7. Pingback: Patriotic Cookie Dough, Fruit, & Cream Parfait – My 100th Recipe!! | Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

I would love to hear from you...

