Creating Canvas Fabric Art

Purple? Hmmmm. I have never been a big fan of it. That is, until I saw the purple accent wall in the kitchen of the house we ended up recently buying. Do I love purple now? No. Do I love the purple in the rest of the house? No. In fact, we have already been painting over it. But the purple wall in our kitchen? Its a keeper!

As you all are getting to know my crafty side, you can imagine that my mind was spinning right away when I first saw this wall, coming up with different ideas for it. My very first idea, and the one I stuck with, was taking a canvas and wrapping it with decorative fabric.

I searched through a lot of fabric and had just about given up hope on the idea when I found this one. I took one look at it and knew it was meant for our wall. I absolutely love it!

I must say that I have such a sweet hubby! I trusted his ability with this project far more than I trusted my own, so he did it himself, from start to finish! Thank you hubby!! ❀

Doesn’t it look great on the wall?! This is exactly what I had envisioned!

Canvas Fabric Art

Lori @ Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Supplies:

  • 1 canvas (you chose the size)
  • Fabric of your choosing…enough to have about a 1 1/2 inchesΒ on each side for the stapling.
  • A staple gun with staples
  • Sharp Scissors (preferably fabric ones)
  • Iron and ironing board

Directions:

  • Iron the fabric to get out any creases.
  • Place the fabric over the canvas, deciding how you want it to look. For instance, you want to make sure you are not cutting something off that is essential to the fabric, like in my case, the bird’s head.
  • Once you know how you want the fabric to look on the canvas, cut about 1 1/2 inches more on each side. Now you should have your piece ready.
  • Flip the canvas over, making sure to keep the fabric lined up the way you want.
  • First work on the sides. Fold the fabric in from right and left side of one corner and staple at the corners, one at a time. Checking each time to make sure the fabric it still aligned correctly, and pulling it taut. Β Do this for each corner.
  • When the corners are finished, pull the fabric taut, folding it behind the canvas and staple down along the right and left side.
  • Now you need to work on the top and bottom. On each corner fold in a little bit, pulling tightly up to make it a really tight corner. Then, pulling the fabric taut, staple it the rest of the way on the top and bottom.

Enjoy!

My Signature2

22 thoughts on “Creating Canvas Fabric Art

    • Thank you sweet Malar! Yes, definitely enjoying our house! The unpacking and settling is certainly a slow, long, and tiring process. But well worth it!

      Like

  1. wowww…..the wall’s color along with the wall art added more beauty!!
    me too just love decorating home with our own hands…that’s a special happiness…
    do make a post after your new home is set with a complete view!!eager to see all the li’l things you did with so much Love:-)

    Like

  2. Looks really beautiful. Are you done with doing up your new home. Would love to see how you have decorated it. Must be really tasteful πŸ™‚ Good luck to both of you πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Pingback: Wooden Tile Board Project |

I would love to hear from you...

