3-D Decoupaged Owl Welcome sign

My plan? To bring something yummy for all of our voracious Fiesta Friday appetites! πŸ˜€ What is actually happening?Β I am bringing something for your eyes instead.

Remember those cute little owls I painted and decoupaged the other day? I told you I wasn’t quite finished with them. πŸ™‚

Would you believe this all started with a plain ole’ piece of cardboard? I have several more like it that I can’t wait to do something with. My mom is really catching onto my creative side. When we first spotted these sturdy pieces when we were unpacking, we both had the exact same idea…something for me to create on! πŸ™‚

So, “create” is exactly what I have done!

I took all the scrapbook papers I had used on the owls and made polka dots from them for the letters. I wanted everything to come together really well.Β 

I loved using this little owl for the “O” in welcome!

One piece of large scrapbook paper wasn’t enough to cover the entire board, thus the fun blue strip. Something not quite fitting right is just a great excuse for me to get all the more creative! πŸ˜€Β 

This fun “Welcome” sign was inspired from these pillows below on this awesome bench in our mudroom. I used the colors from the pillows to pick out what scrapbook paper and color paint I would use.Β 

So now when you walk in from the garage, this welcome sign (in our owl themed mudroom) will greet you! Whether you come in the front or use the garage, you can’t get by without seeing some fun owl-themed decor that I have created. πŸ™‚

3-D Decoupaged Owl Welcome Sign

*Lori at Creatingbeautyinthekitchen.wordpress.com

Supplies:

  • Decoupaged/painted wooden owls
  • Hard, thick piece of cardboard
  • Mod Podge
  • Scrapbook paper to match the owls
  • Scissors
  • Hole punch
  • Paint brush for Mod Podge
  • Drop cloth or old sheet
  • Paint color of your choice
  • Paint brush for paint

Directions:

  • Lay out the drop cloth/sheet. This will be your work station.
  • Once you have picked out the background color for your welcome sign, cover the cardboard with a thin layer of Mod Podge and lay the paper flat, smoothing it out.
  • If it doesn’t cover the entire thing, then use another piece of paper of the same color and follow the same step as above on the cardboard you have left.
  • In order for the line to not show, pick out a fun and contrasting scrapbook paper to make a strip out of. Once you have cut the strip, put a thin layer of the Mod Podge onto the seam between the two papers and lay the strip down, making sure it is smooth.
  • After this has all dried for a few minutes, you want to flip the cardboard over and curve the excess paper over the sides, gluing them down by doing the same thing as you did above. You will need to fold at the corners to make them tuck down smoothly with the Mod Podge.
  • Flip the sign back over and figure out where you want to place your owls. Once you have that decided, put one of the owls where you want the “o” to go in “welcome” and paint the word around it. Let dry.
  • Before you Mod Podge any of the owls to the sign (including the one in the word), paint a couple layers of Mod Podge onto the entire front side. This will seal it really well for you. Remember, the owls have already been sealed. Let dry between applications.
  • Once the sign is dry, decoupage all the owls to the sign, one at a time. To do this, just put a layer of the Mod Podge onto the back and firmly stick it where you want it to go. Let them dry before hanging the sign up.

I hope seeing this sign I made will get some of your creative juices flowing as you snack on all the wonderful food! And I do know it will be wonderful! Always look forward to seeing what each and every one of you bring!

As always, a FF post would not be complete without a big shout out to Angie and her co-hosts! Thanks!!

Food, crafts, pictures, music….come bring something to the party! All are invited!

fiesta-friday-badge-button-i-party

My Signature2

48 thoughts on “3-D Decoupaged Owl Welcome sign

  1. Hmmm – I’m starting to think you really like owls. We used to have a tawny frogmouth owl near my in-laws’ front door, a bit like a tree-top welcome for us all. Your owls are a bit more colourful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Bruschetta or Crostini ?| Fiesta Friday #31 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Awwww this is SOOOO cute, I absolutely love it- I need to get more creative with decore and crafts, it’s so fun! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the way you are transforming your house into a unique home of your own. I’m sure many of us will be taking notes on your ideas and appreciate your detailed instructions. I need them!

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you...

