Mexican Egg & Vegetable Breakfast Casserole

“Since we spend so much of our lives eating, preparing to eat, and cleaning up after eating, shouldn’t we put some effort and attention into making mealtimes some of the most pleasurable and memorable parts of our lives?”

This is a quote that really stood out to me from a book I am reading and loving called Simple Secrets to a Beautiful Home by Emilie Barnes.

So when I woke up on this holiday today….way too early mind you….to a house with everyone else asleep, I thought about this quote and decided to have a little fun in the kitchen for my family.

I am sure you aren’t surprised that the recipe I came up with has a Mexican flare to it…I am pretty sure my family wasn’t surprised either. πŸ™‚

While my hubby and mom slept peacefully upstairs, I put the casserole in the oven, brewed my mom’s coffee for her, got the tea ready, made sure the table was nice, and put the candle on. I wanted my family to be blessed when they came down the stairs.

And I really think they were….other than the fact that they were both deeply asleep when I wentΒ to tell them breakfast was ready. πŸ˜‰ My mom is still laughing at meeting my hubby in the hallway, both of them half asleep. πŸ˜€

Mexican Egg & Vegetable Breakfast Casserole

*Created by Lori at creatingbeautyinthekitchen.wordpress.com

Ingredients:

  • 8 eggs
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 small zucchini, sliced and fourthed
  • 1/4 onion diced
  • Chili Powder
  • Cinnamon
  • 1 Tsp honey
  • 1 flour tortilla, toasted (Omit this to keep it gluten free, or use a gluten free tortilla.)
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • Olive oil
  • Fresh cilantro
  • Cherry tomatoes

Directions:

  • Pour a little bit of olive oil on the sweet potato and bake it in the microwave for 5 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, take the sliced zucchini and diced onion and saute them in a skillet with some olive oil.
  • Toast the tortilla and rip it into little pieces.
  • When the sweet potato is done, carefully pull chunks out of it, leaving the skin behind.
  • Put your eggs in a large mixing bowl with the chili powder, cinnamon, honey, tortilla strips, black beans, sweet potatoes, and the rest of the vegetables. Mix thoroughly.
  • Pour into a casserole dish and bake on 350 degrees. Depending on the size dish you use, the cook time will fluctuate. I used a small, deep dish, so it took about 45 minutes. It would be much better to use a larger, wider one where the cook time will be much less, probably around 20-25 min.
  • Serve with fresh tomatoes and cilantro.

My Signature2

31 thoughts on “Mexican Egg & Vegetable Breakfast Casserole

  1. I have never thought about putting black beans in eggs! This sounds fantastic! I’m not a yam or olive fan, though. But you have given me a great start to a different kind of egg casserole. I’m looking forward to next weekend to try it. Thanks!

    Like

    • Hahaha….thanks! Love this comment! 😊 Those tea cups…I fell in love with them the moment I saw them. I’m so glad you like them. I don’t know if you can see it in the picture (don’t remember…lol) but they are polka dotted! πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Great idea, Lori! Egg casseroles are one of my favourite easy meals since I can prepare one up to a few days in advance and pop the dish into the oven just before I’m ready to eat it.

    Like

I would love to hear from you...

