Wooden Tile Board Project

Another fun DIY project for our kitchen! This room is very special to me….special, really, because it was a room I always hated, but now love. It was a room I dreaded going into, and now its the place where I feel inspired. It was the room I feared, but now am excited about. It was the room I knew nothing about, and now can’t get enough of exploring.

Because of this, I have really been wanting this room to be filled with the sentiment of my blog….my journey of creating beauty in the kitchen.

Remember this gorgeous canvas art my hubby made for the purple wall? Well, we have some of that beautiful fabric leftover, so I used it to make a matching wooden tile art piece. I wish I could show you the “before,” but I forgot to take a picture before I started working on it. Essentially, it was all unfinished  wood with 6 unfinished wooden tiles that pop out.

I painted the base a turquoise type color, to bring out the same color from our awesome kitchen towels. Notice that these are fresh herb plants on the towel….so me!! Love it!

I painted 5 of the pieces with chalkboard paint, and I decoupaged the other 4 with some of the extra fabric. I had fun making this part 3-D by layering different sections of the fabric on each other. And of course the chalkboard pieces were made with one particular phrase in mind, “Creating Beauty in the Kitchen.”

I love reading it when I walk into our kitchen…where it sits on the counter against the wall.  It serves as a beautiful reminder of where the Lord has brought me!

Wooden Tile Board Project

*Lori @ creatingbeautyinthekitchen.wordpress.com

Supplies:

  • Drop cloth or old sheet
  • Wooden tile board (I got mine at Walmart)
  • Chalkboard paint
  • 3 medium sized Paint brushes
  • Color paint of your choice
  • Fabric or scrapbook paper
  • Mod Podge
  • Scissors

Directions:

  • Lay your drop cloth or old sheet down and paint the base first. You will probably need two to three coats on it.
  • While it is drying, paint the tiles you want chalkboard paint on. Again, you will probably need several coats. Let dry well in between.
  • Decide what you want on the other tiles. You can either have one layer that fits perfectly on it, or layer it to make it 3-D like I did.
  • Paint a layer of glue on the wooden tile where you are placing the paper or fabric. Smooth the paper/fabric over it. If you use paper you will want a thinner layer of the Mod Podge, and for the fabric you will want thicker.
  • Continue doing this until your tiles are covered and you have all the layers you want. You may need to wait for the first layer to dry before adding another one.
  • When everything is finished, you want to seal your project by painting the Mod Podge over every piece….the base, the chalkboard pieces, and the decoupaged ones. 2-3 coats of this, letting it dry well between applications.

My Signature2

7 thoughts on “Wooden Tile Board Project

I would love to hear from you...

