Not Giving Up 

img_5562

Not giving up on things in life is really easy when they don’t require much of you. For instance, persevering and continuing to make reading a part of my life is not hard because I absolutely love doing it. It brings me tons of joy. I love learning. It’s a way I can relax. Yep, easy to not give up on my reading endeavors. 😂

I’m purposefully using a silly example, but this reality is true nonetheless. We are very tempted to give up on things when they are hard.

Foster adopting our sibling set of three has taught me so much about this. Before we ever got our kiddos, we had to make the decision that giving up was never an option. We made this commitment ahead of time because we knew it could get really, really hard. And it did.

But we made that commitment. No matter how hard it got. No matter how much it hurt. No matter how much it cost emotionally. No matter how much we lost. No matter how much was sacrificed. It wasn’t an option then and it’s not an option now. No matter how hard it still is. No matter how much it costs us emotionally. No matter how much we have to lose. No matter how much we must sacrifice.

Has it been easy? I think you already know the answer to that. Has not giving up been worth it? Absolutely.

All of this came to mind this morning as I was working on something new exercise-wise. And while it might seem weird to relate this to not giving up on my fitness journey, let me assure you that it’s really not. My hubby can attest to the fact that I have always hated the pain that exercising causes. The burning in my muscles. The burning in my lungs. The exhaustion. The hard work it takes. The perseverance. Ugh…hated it all and was quick to give up. While my hubby would push himself more every time we worked out, I would do just enough to get by without it challenging me too much.

And if I’m honest, isn’t that how I want all of life to be? Not too challenging?  More easy than hard? More simple than complicated? More full of play than work?

But that’s not how life is, is it? But the hard work is worth it. The not giving up is worth it. As I recently told my son, we have two choices when something is hard. We can give up, or we can keep trying over and over again. One road leads to complacency and the other one leads to growth.

Am I a perfect Mom? Nope. Do I always react the best way when my child is dealing with the impacts of trauma? No. Am I always patient with my children? I wish I could say I was. Sometimes I fail. Sometimes I have to ask my kid’s forgiveness. Does that mean I should throw the towel in and not continue to seek to love my children really well? Heck no! I get back up. Over and over and over and over again. Every single day.

I don’t doubt that foster-adopting has grown my ability to persevere in ways I needed desperately. In ways that have effected other areas of my life…even exercise.

When it comes to my fitness journey, I have learned that not being good at something right from the start is okay. I have learned that failing and not being able to do something is actually an opportunity for growth. I have learned that being a beginner is totally acceptable. I have learned that the hard work is worth it.

So, for the sake of keeping it real like I love to do, here is me trying a new yoga move today. The L shaped handstand. I tried it. I did it wrong. I tried it again. My legs slid down the wall. I tried it again. I could not get my body in an L shape. I just kept trying. Did I ever accomplish it? Not today. Will I keep trying? Definitely!


Where in your life would you like to continue to grow in perseverance?

lori

I would love to hear from you...

