Chocolaty Pear Crisp

Image

I think Fiesta Fridays have become my excuse to bake something sweet! šŸ˜€

As always, thank you Angie for hosting us and bringing us all together! Each week is so much fun! And thank you Saucy and Sir Johnny for co-hosting!

This week’s inspiration? Pears!

I have to say….this really is as delicious as it looks! The sweet crust made such a delicious addition to this yumminess!

Yay for another experiment gone well! šŸ˜€

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Chocolaty Pear Crisp

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Image

  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk- the thick part
  • 4 tbsp honey
  • 1 pear
  • 2/3 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp pure almond extract
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil melted

Image

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Wash and cut the pear into pieces.
  • Put into a small baking dish.
  • Create the chocolate sauce by combining the cinnamon, chocolate chips, coconut milk, and 2 tbsp honey in a small saucepan over medium heat.
  • When the sauce is warm and melted together, pour over over the pear pieces. (You will have extra)
  • To make the crust, combine the almond flour, almond extract, 2 remaining tbsp of honey, and coconut oil. Mix together well.
  • Cover the top of your pear dish with this.
  • Cook for 20-25 minutes. (If you like your fruit softer, you might want to cook the pears by themselves for a bit before you proceed to these final stages.)
  • When finished cooking, pour some of the extra chocolate sauce over the top. (I reheated it a little bit.)

 

Image

57 thoughts on “Chocolaty Pear Crisp

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #14 and Fiesta Friday Challenge #1 | The Novice Gardener

  2. These are great for individual size dessert treats, Lori. I can see us enjoying these in our own ramekins (no need to fight), mine drizzled with lots of chocolate, his topped with a scoop of ice cream. Just a question, what do you do with all the coconut milk you don’t use (the non thick stuff)? šŸ™‚ I used mine in a curry the other day, but wonder if you freeze it? Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, thanks Ngan! Exactly…seperate Ramekins….and each one can be to the persons liking! šŸ™‚ Sometimes I keep the non-thick coconut milk to use in other things that don’t need the thickness, other times I honestly get rid of it if I have literally used all the thick stuff. Haven’t tried freezing it…that could be a good idea! Happy Friday back at you Ngan! šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Beautiful Lori! There is nothing better than pears and chocolate and coconut ( my new most favourite ingredient)! You rock – this is an awesome dessert and perfect for the FF bunch! Yummy! šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is great! Pear and chocolate is one of those crowd favourite combinations, and I love your twist / experiment with this crisp! Mmm you may have inspired me to bake something with pears and chocolate this weekend… šŸ™‚ Thank you for bringing this to Fiesta Friday!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think you are right about the excuse to make something sweet. I told myself that I was going to make something healthy next time, or at least non sweet and instead I brought cupcakes! Ha! šŸ™‚ This looks yummy Lori!

    Like

  6. Really lovely combination of flavours going on. Over here in the UK it’s far more normal to view recipes that poach pears, usually in wine (that I don’t drink). This is bound to be really flavoursome, especially with the crisp (or crumble as we call it). And I love anything to do with ground almonds! And coconut. But I’ve never used both together.

    Like

    • Poaching pears….hmmm….I may have to look into that. Thanks for your kind words! I use coconut milk or coconut oil in most things…it is really great! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

I would love to hear from you...

