Chicken Parmesan

Image

Like I mentioned in my Fiesta Friday post, hubby and I absolutely loved the homemade red sauce I made the other day, so I desperately wanted to figure out something else to make with it. Thus, this yummy Parmesan Chicken!

The tricky part was how I was going to make a low-glycemic version since I can’t use normal breadcrumbs or flour. That’s when I thought of something that is sitting in the corner of my kitchen that I haven’t experimented with much…tapioca flour. And can I just say, I love how this came out! The taste was perfect! And the texture was nice and crisp…loved it!

Image

Image

Image

Chicken Parmesan

*Created by Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

Image

  • Homemade Red Sauce….recipe can be found HERE
  • 2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup of tapioca flour
  • 1 egg
  • Olive oil

Image

  • Put a quarter inch of oil in a frying pan and heat.
  • Put egg in bowl and whisk.
  • In another bowl, pour the tapioca flour.
  • Dip your chicken in the egg, and then the tapioca flour, making sure it is fully covered. Place in frying pan.
  • Cook each side, flipping, until finished.
  • Put on plates, cover with the red sauce, and Parmesan cheese.

 

Image

18 thoughts on “Chicken Parmesan

  1. I’ve never used tapioca flour, Lori, only tapioca pearls. I’m guessing the flour is like the pearls but just ground up? Anyhoo, it looks like a wonderful substitute for the regular flour/bread crumbs for chicken parm. This looks like it is crisp and delicious. I bet it was great!

    Like

    • I have never heard of the tapioca pearls. What is the consistency? The tapioca flour has a super smooth normal flour type texture. It really was good Ngan! I am so excited! πŸ˜€

      Like

      • Hi Lori, tapioca pearls are little white balls that get super fluffy when you cook them in a little water or coconut milk. I only use it for a Vietnamese dessert dish, and this conversation has reminded me to make it this summer to post and share with you! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • ah yes I love them so did my mother, I used to go to our wildlife area where they had lots, sad to see in captivity but sometimes good for keeping the species going. I love that old fashioned owl picture i think its from the 60’s and perhaps swedish or something, not sure, know the one i mean?

        Like

I would love to hear from you...

