A Wonderful Take on Quinoa by Sonal at Simply Vegetarian

It is my pleasure today to bring you a guest post from the lovely, creative, and inspiring Sonal from Simply Vegetarian!

I have mentioned a time or two before that I used to not be very adventurous when it came to trying foods. It is actually hard for me to believe now. I remember going to a particular restaurant with my hubby off and on over the years and he would often get something that I was totally unwilling to try. For some reason, after years of my unwillingness, I took a bite of what he was eating, and wow! I absolutely loved it! Who knew I had been missing out for so long. So many times of watching him eat something so delicious and never taking a bite.

All that said to say, one of the many reasons I am drawn to Sonal is that she inspires me to try new foods! Indian food happens to be something that I have just barely dipped my pinky toe in, so I often find myself excited to see what she posts and saving her creations! Take a look at her Kadhai Paneer, and I absolutely love when she makes a spice blend for us!

I am super, duper excited by the recipe she has brought us all today! I know you will love it!

Time for me to hand you over to Sonal ❤ …

Hello Gorgeous Readers of Creating Beauty in the Kitchen,
When Lori contacted me at the end of July to do a guest post for her blog, I said yes and you know better than me why? :). She is such a charmer and a sweet sweet girl. You all are one lucky group of people to be here with Lori, not only reading and recreating her gorgeous recipes but now gorging at her beautiful art work. One multi talented blogger she is. I just adore her for her spirit and that ever smiling humble character.
Her blog tag line says it all !
Low Glycemic, No Refined Sugars, Fresh Ingredients and Mostly Gluten Free with Some Fun Crafting Thrown In !
As Lori’s blog is all about low glycemic index, gluten free and fresh ingredients involved recipes, I zeroed it down to Quinoa. It is the only grain/seed which is low in carbs and high in proteins, low in glycemic index and gluten free. So I have prepared Quinoa Pilaf or Pulav as we say, with fresh vegetables and Indian seasonings for you all.
Quinoa Vegetable Pilaf / Pulav with Indian Spices !
 
I often make pilaf / pulav at home with basmati rice. But I have to say that Quinoa being so nutty and distinctive in flavor has a unique quality. It just absorbs the flavors from any cuisine so well that it becomes one with that cuisine. I have experimented with Quinoa a lot and this grain has never failed to amaze me. Just awesome.
The freshness of peas, carrots, cauliflower and onion with a delicate seasoning of cumin, bay leaf, cloves and black pepper corns along with turmeric and curry powder / garam masala when cooked with quinoa, created a magic. To tell you the truth, my 2 beautiful daughters loved it too along with my husband…who runs in the other direction when sees “healthy” stuff ;)…lol !
This is how I made this !

Quinoa Vegetable Pilaf / Pulav with Indian Spices

Kitchen Equipments Required : chopping board, knife, deep cooking pot with lid, cooking spatula.
Ingredients : Please refer to the picture # 1 in the pictogram given in the end.
Quinoa : 1 cup uncooked
Oil : 1 tbsp
Bay leaf : 1 small
Cloves : 2 – 3
Black pepper corns : 2 – 3
Garam masala or curry powder : 1/2 to 1 tsp as per taste
Turmeric : 1/2 tsp
Red chili powder : 1/4 tsp or less as per taste or skip if you don’t like much spice.
Salt to taste
Onion : 1/2 cup chopped
Peas : 1/2 cup
Ginger : 1 tsp chopped
Garlic : 1 tsp chopped
Cauliflower : 1/2 cup, cut into small florets
Carrots : 1/2 cup
Water : 1&1/2 cups
Method : Please refer to the pictorial collage given in the end.
 
1. Wash and soak quinoa in enough water till it is ready to be used.
2. Heat oil in the pot. Lower the gas flame. Add cumin seeds, cloves, black pepper corns and bay leaf to it. Refer pic # 2.
3. Once cumin seeds crackle a bit, add onions and brown them a bit. It takes 3 odd minutes on medium flame to brown the onions slightly. Refer pic #3.
4. Now add other vegetables and drained Quinoa to the pot. Stir it well and cook for 2 minutes like that, stirring often. Refer to pic # 4.
5. Now add all the other spices to it. Mix well. Refer pic # 5.
6. Add water to the pot. Stir well. Refer pic # 6.
7. Cover with lid and cook on slow till water evaporates. Refer pic # 7.
8. Once the water is gone. Switch the gas stove off. Keep it covered and don’t touch it. The quinoa is still cooking in the steam. We added less water than recommended but this trick works well and saves lot of gas and gives well cooked quinoa.
9. Open and fork it gently. Serve and eat warm. I ate it with some whisked plain yogurt and spicy Indian pickles.
Notes :
1. You may add any vegetable available. Frozen mixed vegetable pack comes in handy a lot if times.
2. It is good for diabetics.
3. If you decide to use the potato, then you may also use sweet potato instead of white potato to keep it healthier.
4. You can whisk this dish any busy weeknight since it is done in under 30 minutes and healthy and filling.
5. If you have any leftover cooked quinoa, then you can cook this dish with that too. Just make a veg stirfry with Indian spices and let them
Cook well. Once Veges are cooked, add leftover cooked quinoa.
6. This will work with quick cooking oats and brown rice too if low glycemic indecisive not a restriction.
 
 

Sonal, you know how much I LOVE quinoa! Oh, I am so excited by this delicious recipe! Thank you, thank you, thank you for bringing this lovely and (for me) adventurous dish! I can’t wait to take a big bite! 😀
To see more of Sonal’s creations, go HERE!
My Signature2
37 thoughts on “A Wonderful Take on Quinoa by Sonal at Simply Vegetarian

    • Awe, thanks Sonal!!! “adorable”…..I like that. 🙂 It was so great to have you guest post and I still really can’t wait to officially try such an amazingly flavorful quinoa dish! Hugs!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Vegetable Quinoa Pilaf / Pulav with Indian seasonings for Lori of Creating Beauty in the Kitchen! | simplyvegetarian777

  2. I’ve just discovered Quinoa, Lori – so this recipe is very welcome!
    I usually use a lot of rice and lentils, but Quinoa is a really tasty alternative.
    I love the way it has such a different texture too.
    Thanks for re-posting –
    Emma 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you...

